WYSE Day Two

Today was an amazing day at WYSE! I woke up for breakfast and then met with my color group. 

My color group and I got onto the buses and headed to the Smithsonian National Zoo!

Once we got there we had a short introduction and then got into pairs or groups and explored the zoo. I got to see a panda for the first time and it was awesome! 

After a couple of exploration hours we had small group sessions in various locations. I was apart of the Welcome to the Amazon discussion. It was interesting to learn about the different habitats and see all the different mammals, reptiles, and insects. 

After our small group discussions we had a short break and than a panel discussion with people who worked at the zoo. There were a lot of great questions asked and it was interesting to see the panel experts answer various questions. 

After the panel discussions we had some more exploration time. I was able to see the big cats and lots of other animals. 

We then had a nice dinner and a color group meeting. During the meeting we discussed the panels and the zoo. Then we got back onto the buses and when an a monuments tour. 

It is my first time to Washington D.C. and it was amazing to see all the different monuments. I really enjoyed the Lincoln Memorial because he was a giant monument and exciting to see. 

After seeing the Washington Monument, Lincoln Memorial, Reflection Lake, and the White House we headed back to campus.

I had so much fun today at WYSE and cannot wait for my field visit to the National Aquarium tomorrow! #wyse

Leave a comment